Tips If You Have a Desk Job

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management philosophy that aims to provide the user with maximum focus and creative freshness, thereby allowing them to complete projects faster with less mental fatigue.

The process is simple. For every project throughout the day, you budget your time into short increments and take breaks periodically. You work for 25 minutes, then take break for five minutes.

– Source: Lifehack.org 

Tomatoes #2

If you have a desk job like I do (software developer here), the Pomodoro Technique can be helpful for you not only mentally but physically. You can stand or go for a short walk somewhere so you are not sitting on a chair for too long.

Here are other small things I do at work to counteract the side-effects of my job:

  • I have to go to the toilet often since I drink lots of water, which means I get to move my legs and feet.
  • I go to the watercooler a lot to refill. I get to move my legs again.
  • I stand when I eat at the pantry. This happens twice: meal #1 and meal #2.
  • Sometimes, I go to the fire exit and go up and down a few levels. You should try it. It’s pretty cool.
  • Sometimes, I stand up and look out the windows. My eyes get a rest from the computer screen and I get a few moments of contemplation.
  • I go down 23 levels and leave the building to buy nuts at the convenience store or to buy my coffee from the Starbucks next street.
  • I walk from the office to the gym instead of taking a public transportation. It takes from 15-30 minutes to get there depending on the human traffic on the path.
  • I go to the gym after work, from Monday to Friday.

You can try incorporating these tasks into your daily routine or you can get creative on your own. The key thing to remember is to avoid sitting for too long!


Images:

Office Exercising by Tiffany Terry

Tomatoes #2 by Davide Restivo

Leave a Reply

