My Gut Has Improved

I used to be the guy who suffered from constipation, diarrhoea, and other digestive tract problems. Can you imagine the discomfort and pain it gave me whenever I was outside our house? I had to condition myself to be prepared as it might happen anywhere, in a restaurant, in a party, in a public commute, in a movie theatre, and even on vacation, on a beach, in the mountain, or in a different country. I used to say a lot, “Shit happens.” Thank goodness, those days are now as rare as a four-leaf clover.

Knowledge, discipline, and commitment – they all helped me improve my gut health.

I began minding what I eat, taking notes on what I had eaten that gave me stomach problems and avoiding them daily. Below is a list of food I avoid as much as I can. Our bodies are different from each other. What is not okay with my system may be tolerated by yours. I’m not going to provide further scientific evidence about them. They made the list after observing my own eating habits:

  • Artificial fruit juices
  • Iced teas
  • Lattes and frappuccino
  • Chocolate drinks
  • Chocolate cake
  • Milk
  • Wheat bread (I can tolerate this though in few servings)
  • Gravy
  • Biscuits and cookies (like wheat bread, can only be tolerated in few servings)
  • Mayonnaise
  • Sodas
  • Bottled water (some bottled water sends me to the toilet)
Buffet by Ville Oksanen
Buffet by Ville Oksanen

When attending special occasions or going on a holiday, it can be really tempting to indulge in food you don’t normally encounter in your normal days. I have two approaches in this type of situation:

  • Stick to food I know is compatible with my digestive system
  • Or, have small servings or bites of those pleasure food, small enough to at least try them but not enough to be considered one serving

I have also observed that incorporating these food in my diet and adopting these habits helped improve my gut health:

  • Vegetables (really, you can’t have enough of this)
  • Probiotics
  • Lots of clean drinking water
  • Intermittent fasting
  • No stress

I’ll discuss gut health in the future. It is one of the most ignored aspect of our health and should be taken care of, like the rest of them.


Cover image: 34/52: muddy wet field by PhotKing

Leave a Reply

