priority by Robert S. Donovan - https://www.flickr.com/photos/booleansplit

Your Problem is Not Your Time, It’s Your Priority

Time, aside from love, is one of the priceless and most valuable gifts we can both give and receive, not only for others but also for ourselves. Most people do not realize how much power they have over their own time, and so come the excuses such as “I’m busy”, “I don’t have the time”, or “My schedule is full”. With the power of time also comes priority.

If I tell you, “Time”, you reply back with “Priority”. If I say to you, “Priority”, you respond back with “Time”. The two goes hand in hand, never one without the other. If it doesn’t for you, then you’re doing it wrong.

I’m very lucky and grateful to work for a company that values productivity over the Bundy clock (that’s time clock for you non-Australian English speakers). I have been able to readjust my working hours to accommodate my social life, important matters I have to attend to, and my workout.

Last Friday, I had a movie date with my friends to watch Marc Webb’s The Amazing Spiderman 2. There were several things I had to consider in rearranging my schedule for Friday. First was my evening workout at the gym. My schedule is during the last two hours before the gym’s closing and that was in conflict with the last screening of the movie. Second was the venue. The movie theater was a couple of cities away from my gym, and Friday night was notorious for heavy traffic. It would pose a problem if I didn’t time everything right and I didn’t want to be late for the movie.

I couldn’t miss a workout so skipping the gym in favor of Peter Parker was not an option for me. I took advantage of the office’s remote working policy and began my work early in the morning at home. It was the second time I took advantage of it this year since I always preferred working in the office, a walking distance from my gym. I rescheduled my training two hours earlier to which my trainer agreed with, so I could avoid the traffic.

Everything went well according to plan. I arrived at the gym, finished my workout in time, and got to the movie theater early. No stress involved. It wasn’t the only time I would readjust my working schedule to allow time for things. Sometimes we would have important weekly or monthly meetings that I could not miss. Readjusting my schedule helped. On other occasions, I chose the movie theater near to my gym so I didn’t have to hustle. When no gym is available like during an out-of-town vacation, I take advantage of fitness apps that provide workouts without the need of a gym.

The bottom line is: I can’t not work out.

I wish everyone has the same flexible work schedule that I do but it’s not possible. But I can tell you that the familiar faces in my gym do not have flexible work schedule too. I see them on specific hours and days, which means they set aside a time for exercise.

I’ve heard friends join the fitness wagon only to back out sooner spewing the expected excuses that they’re busy again, or not having any extra time in their life. Does anyone get any extra time anyway? We all have 24 hours. If anyone knows a way to add to that, please contact me. My new projects could take advantage of that.

“I don’t have time” is synonymous to “It’s not my priority.” They just don’t want to admit it. Sometimes, I want to ask these people the question, “When are you going to make fitness a priority? When you have no more time?”

 

Cover image: priority by Robert S. Donovan – https://www.flickr.com/photos/booleansplit/

One thought on “Your Problem is Not Your Time, It’s Your Priority”

Leave a comment